Guildford City 0 – 3 Kingstonian (FA Cup First Qualifying Round)

Click for match photos
Guildford City came into this FA Cup first qualifying round fixture on the back of five straight league wins and a mouth watering 5-3 victory against East Preston in the preliminary round; to take on the famous Kingstonian.

Dubbed the battle of the Surrey county towns and played out in front of Guildford’s biggest crowd, of 295, since the club’s reformation in 1996. Kevin Rayner’s side gave a good account of themselves against a side higher in the non-league pyramid, however it was the Isthmian Premier League side that progressed to the next round of the cup, after a 3-0 victory.

K’s started strongly with Dean Lodge causing problems down the left flank; and after five minutes they were rewarded with a breakthrough; tall striker Craig Mullen outmuscled Jamie Thoroughgood before finishing beyond Antony Hall.

Guildford City grew into the game as the half went on and were unlucky with a few attempts, Jack Guilford came closest side footing wide from a Ben Rayner corner. Joel Hughes and Austin Gacheru continued to work some neat moves but were unable to find the finish that would get them back into the match.

The second half began much like the first had, with Kingstonian on top, and after some big saves from Hall, Matt Pattison found the net after 58 minutes stroking the ball beyond the keeper from outside the box.

Hughes went close on a few more occasions, mainly from chances he had created for himself, working well from the wider areas, however it was Mullen who struck again for K’s to end the competition. Substitute Sam Clayton got down the wing and delivered a cross which Lodge met forcing Hall to smother the ball, only for it to find the path of Mullen who made it 3-0.

Match report by Bruce Archer.

Guildford City:
Antony Hall, Tom Penson, Ben Rayner (Junior Kaffo 84), Simon Cooper, Jamie Thoroughgood, Corey Holder, Dan Moody, Jack Guilford (Dammy Bada 60), Austin Gacheru, Joel Hughes, Tommy Tydeman (Luke Bradnick 87).
Unused substitutes: Moses Spencer, Graham Killoughery, Will Heavey, Michael Hall.
Cautioned: Tom Penson, Jamie Thoroughgood